Final Blog Post

So I just finished looking at old pictures, and along with that, senior year is coming to a close and graduation season is here. The combination of all three of these things is making me begin to feel a little sentimental and reflective. Not only will I be leaving my friends next fall, but I will also be leaving my family. As one of the most important things to me, I realized even more how special my family is to me this past weekend. After attending my cousin’s UT graduation last Friday I’ve started thinking how fast time passes by. It doesn’t seem that long ago that he was a freshman in college and I a freshman in highschool, and now we are both graduating. When living in the moment–on a day to day basis– you don’t really realize the passing of time. But looking back, these past four years have passed by incredibly fast. In fact, the past 18 years have passed by quickly. At least for me, my elementary school days seem not that long ago, but at the same time, they feel like they happened ages ago. It’s a weird paradox.

Anyways, what I am trying to get at in this blog post is the idea that we should treasure moments and not take time or where we are in life for granted, such as our health, the health of our loved ones, or just general daily activities. I know this all sounds cliche and is said way too many times, but it’s said so often for a reason–because it holds truth. I emphasized health so much in that previous statement because as I see my grandparents age and become less active and mobile, it makes me sad. Before, I never really thought about how lucky I am to not have a major handicap or to have the agility of youth, but after my grandparents’ cancer battles and various surgeries, I’ve started appreciating my health more. As my cousin goes onto medical school and I (as well as many of my other classmates) go into college, we will be entering different stages of our lives. While it is scary, it will also be exciting and fun. They will be full of memories that we should not take for granted but should instead treasure.

Leave a Reply

